Skip to content

The best diode laser engravers for 2026

A diode engraver moves a small laser module over an open frame and burns or cuts wood, leather, card and some plastics. It is the shelf where one number misleads more than any other: power. Many listings print the electrical power the module draws, and a smaller figure — the optical output that actually leaves the lens — sits elsewhere or nowhere. Both are watts; only the second describes what reaches the material, and a page here always says which one a maker publishes. Working area is a declared width and depth, and it can often be extended with a longer frame sold separately. Spot size, published as a rectangle or a diameter, decides how fine an engraving can be. Air assist blows air at the cut to clear smoke and flame, and it changes cutting results more than a small step in power. Then the protection: an open-frame diode laser is usually a Class 4 product, the listing should state its class, the goggles in the box are rated for a wavelength, and the enclosure, fume extraction and instructions the maker specifies are the ones to follow — this site describes them and never calls a setup safe. We compare optical output power, working area, spot size, air assist, published laser class, enclosure and software compatibility.

The machines compared on this page

  1. Longer Ray5 Mini 3.5 W, 140 × 130 mm area

    3.5 W, type of power not stated · 140 × 130 mm working area · 0.04 × 0.04 mm spot · pre-assembled, about 1.8 kg · LaserGRBL and LightBurn · emergency stop

    A pre-assembled 1.8 kg diode engraver with a 140 × 130 mm working area, sold with a laser shield and safety glasses, whose listing gives a 3.5 W figure without saying whether it is optical or electrical.

    Best for: A first engraver for tags, small wooden signs and leather patches, used with the included glasses.

    ≈ 104 €

  2. ATOMSTACK A20 Pro V2, 20 W output stated

    20 W (20,000 mW) output power stated · 0.08 × 0.1 mm spot · linear guides · limit switches, removable magnetic cover and tilt alarm · Type-C or USB stick · no working area published

    An open-frame diode engraver whose listing states 20 W of output power and a 0.08 × 0.1 mm spot, with linear guides, limit switches and a removable magnetic cover, and no working area.

    Best for: A maker cutting wood and acrylic regularly who wants a higher stated output and can confirm the working area first.

    ≈ $390 / 400 €

  3. Carverall A1 Pro 5 W, enclosed with HD camera

    5 W, type of power not stated · fully enclosed, Class 1 stated · HD camera with live preview · lid stop and 15° tilt detection · working height up to 27 cm · CutLabX, LightBurn and LaserGRBL

    A pre-assembled, fully enclosed 5 W engraver with an HD camera for positioning designs, stated as Class 1, whose listing publishes a 27 cm working height but no working area.

    Best for: Engraving personalised gifts at home, positioned by camera, in an enclosed machine.

    ≈ $200 / £210 / 230 €

  4. ELIDOR Z6 12 W, 300 × 300 mm area

    12 W and “60W Leistung” in the title, unexplained · 300 × 300 mm working area · 0.06 × 0.16 mm spot · 2.13 kg · LaserGRBL and LightBurn

    A 2.13 kg open-frame diode engraver with a 300 × 300 mm working area, whose title carries two power figures, 12 W and 60 W, and whose listing never says which one is the beam.

    Best for: A hobbyist who wants a larger square area for signs and gifts and will confirm the optical power with the maker.

    ≈ 199 €

  5. Creality Falcon A1 10 W, enclosed CoreXY, 381 × 305 mm

    10 W diode, type of power not stated · 381 × 305 mm working area · enclosed with lid auto-stop · HD camera and material recognition · CoreXY, up to 600 mm/s · air assist set included

    The dearest of the five diode engravers on this site, a fully enclosed CoreXY machine with a 381 × 305 mm area, a camera that recognises material and loads settings, and an air assist set in the box.

    Best for: A home studio wanting an enclosed, camera-guided engraver with a larger area and air assist from day one.

    ≈ 501 €

A price quoted in the text of a MakerVerdict page dates from the day that page was written; the live figure beside each product is fetched while you read and replaces it.