Skip to content

A first diode laser engraver, and the four things around it

A diode laser engraver is not a single purchase. It needs eye protection chosen against the laser’s own data, a bed that lets the beam pass through the work, and somewhere for the smoke to go. The five picks below follow that buying order: two engravers of very different size, then glasses, then a bed made for the larger machine, then a fume filter made for it too. None of the power figures on these two engravers is identified as optical output, and the guide reports them as the makers print them.

Two diode laser engravers at opposite ends

The Longer Ray5 Mini is a pre-assembled open frame of about 1.8 kg with a 140 × 130 mm working area and a published 0.04 × 0.04 mm spot. The Creality Falcon A1 is enclosed, CoreXY, with a 381 × 305 mm working area, a camera that reads the workpiece and an air assist set in the box. The choice between them is mostly a choice about the size of the objects, and about whether the machine sits in a closed box or in the open.

Watts without a kind

Both listings state a wattage and neither says whether it is electrical or optical. That is the single figure buyers compare lasers on, and here it cannot be compared honestly. The answer on electrical and optical laser power explains which of the two describes what the beam can engrave.

Eye protection is matched, not assumed

Laser glasses protect across a stated band of wavelengths at a stated optical density, and outside that band they are simply tinted plastic. The MCWlaser pair quotes 190–540 nm at OD7+ with 50 % visible light transmission and fits over prescription glasses. Whether that band covers a given engraver depends on the wavelength the maker of that laser publishes; the answer on optical density shows how to read the marking. Laser safety is read from the maker’s documentation for the machine, never from a guide.

A honeycomb bed for the Falcon A1

Creality’s JOZ-HB-A1 bed is made for the Falcon A1 and A1 Pro: 460 × 346 × 15 mm, 8 mm cells and a 430 × 316 mm maximum working area. A raised bed lets the beam leave the back of the work instead of scorching the surface beneath, and its 15 mm thickness changes the focus height — the answer on honeycomb beds and focus height covers the adjustment.

Smoke has to go somewhere

The Creality Falcon YW45 moves 115 m³/h through a two-layer filter and takes 63 or 76 mm hoses; its listing states the noise as both under and from 68 dB. A filter unit is one route and a duct to outside is another. The answer on whether a diode laser engraver needs ventilation and the advice on the first evening with a diode laser take the setup from there.

The shortlist, and the reason for each pick

  1. Longer Ray5 Mini 3.5 W, 140 × 130 mm area

    3.5 W, type of power not stated · 140 × 130 mm working area · 0.04 × 0.04 mm spot · pre-assembled, about 1.8 kg · LaserGRBL and LightBurn · emergency stop

    A pre-assembled 1.8 kg diode engraver with a 140 × 130 mm working area, sold with a laser shield and safety glasses, whose listing gives a 3.5 W figure without saying whether it is optical or electrical.

    Best for: A first engraver for tags, small wooden signs and leather patches, used with the included glasses.

    ≈ 104 €

  2. Creality Falcon A1 10 W, enclosed CoreXY, 381 × 305 mm

    10 W diode, type of power not stated · 381 × 305 mm working area · enclosed with lid auto-stop · HD camera and material recognition · CoreXY, up to 600 mm/s · air assist set included

    The dearest of the five diode engravers on this site, a fully enclosed CoreXY machine with a 381 × 305 mm area, a camera that recognises material and loads settings, and an air assist set in the box.

    Best for: A home studio wanting an enclosed, camera-guided engraver with a larger area and air assist from day one.

    ≈ 501 €

  3. MCWlaser Laser safety glasses OD7+, 190–540 nm, absorption type EP-3 Style 9

    190–540 nm stated · OD7+ · 190–540 nm DIRM LB7, EN 207:2017 stated · fits over prescription glasses · side and brow protection · 50 % visible light transmission

    Absorption-type laser glasses from MCWlaser stated at OD7+ across 190–540 nm, with a 190–540 nm DIRM LB7 marking to EN 207:2017, 50 % visible light transmission, side and brow protection and room for prescription glasses underneath.

    Best for: A diode or green laser user who wears prescription glasses and has checked their laser’s wavelength against 190–540 nm.

    ≈ £45 / 45 €

  4. Creality Honeycomb bed 460 × 346 × 15 mm for Falcon A1 and A1 Pro, 8 mm cells

    460 × 346 mm, 430 × 316 mm working area · 15 mm thick · 8 mm honeycomb · galvanised iron and aluminium alloy, internal support columns · 4 corner guards, no hold-downs · Creality Falcon A1 and A1 Pro

    Creality’s 460 × 346 × 15 mm honeycomb bed for the Falcon A1 and A1 Pro laser engravers, with an 8 mm honeycomb in galvanised iron and aluminium alloy, internal support columns, four removable corner guards and a 430 × 316 mm maximum working area.

    Best for: A Creality Falcon A1 or A1 Pro owner who wants the maker’s bed sized for the machine.

    ≈ £60 / 68 €

  5. Creality Falcon YW45, 115 m³/h, for the Falcon A1

    115 m³/h · two-layer filter · 63 and 76 mm exhaust ports · 3 speeds · 68 dB, stated both as under and as from · 18.5 × 18.5 × 20.5 cm · 100–240 V

    A compact fume filter designed for Creality’s enclosed Falcon A1 engraver, moving 115 m³/h through a two-layer filter, with a port for 63 and 76 mm hoses and a noise figure its title and bullets state two different ways.

    Best for: An owner of the enclosed Falcon A1 who wants a matched filter unit rather than a duct to a window.

    ≈ £279 / 279 €

Questions makers ask before buying

Is a 10 W diode laser engraver twice as strong as a 5 W one?

Not on the figure alone. Diode machines are sold on electrical input and on optical output, and only the second describes the light that reaches the material. The Longer Ray5 Mini lists 3.5 W and the Creality Falcon A1 lists 10 W, and neither laser engraver listing says which kind of watt it means. The answer on electrical and optical laser power sets out the difference.

Which safety glasses go with a diode laser engraver?

Glasses whose marked wavelength band and optical density cover the wavelength the laser’s maker publishes, read from the machine’s manual or label. The MCWlaser pair is marked 190–540 nm DIRM LB7 to EN 207:2017. Neither engraver listing here gives a wavelength, so the match has to be made against the maker’s documentation, not against this page.

The Falcon A1 listing says glasses are not needed while watching. Is that right?

That sentence belongs to the Creality laser engraver listing, which describes the windows as filtering the laser light but publishes no laser class to support it. This guide does not repeat it as advice. The manual and the label on the machine are the references for how it should be used.

A price quoted in the text of a MakerVerdict page dates from the day that page was written; the live figure beside each product is fetched while you read and replaces it.

The tool we use ourselves

Picked your machine? Now pay the right price for it.

3D printers and laser engravers go on sale again and again, and a crossed-out price on its own tells you nothing about what the same model really cost a month earlier. UniverTrack keeps a weekly price history for each retailer, so a discount is compared with a price that was really charged, not one invented for the sale — and it tells you when the right moment to buy has really come.

Real price historyBuy-now alertsAI buying assistant
Try free for 14 days →
No commitment · Cancel in one click · 5 languages