Two figures in watts, and only one of them leaves the lens · review
Longer Ray5 Mini 3.5 W, 140 × 130 mm area review
A pre-assembled 1.8 kg diode engraver with a 140 × 130 mm working area, sold with a laser shield and safety glasses, whose listing gives a 3.5 W figure without saying whether it is optical or electrical.
The bottom line A small, ready-assembled engraver that publishes its working area and spot size and ships with glasses and a shield. The one number buyers compare lasers on, optical power, is the one it leaves unexplained.
The Ray5 Mini listing, bullet by bullet
Six bullets: compact and pre-assembled at about 1.8 kg; a safety-minded design with an included laser shield and glasses the maker says reduce eye strain, plus an emergency stop; a 0.04 × 0.04 mm spot with 0.01 mm accuracy and up to 12,000 mm/min; USB, Wi-Fi, app or offline use with LaserGRBL and LightBurn; wood, leather, metal and acrylic among more than 300 materials; and the tools and instructions in the box with round-the-clock support.
Reading 3.5 W on a diode laser
A wattage without its kind cannot be compared. Some makers quote the electrical power the module draws, others the optical power it emits, and the two can differ several times over. The Ray5 Mini listing gives 3.5 W in the title and nothing more, so the figure places it in a class without fixing its cutting ability.
Accuracy and spot size on the Ray5 Mini
0.04 × 0.04 mm is the size of the focused beam, a real specification. The 0.01 mm accuracy beside it is a claimed figure for positioning, not a tolerance any cut edge is promised to meet.
Protection described by LONGER
A shield and glasses in the box are useful. The listing describes them as reducing eye strain and names an emergency stop; it publishes no laser class. The maker’s instructions decide how the machine should be used and where.
Availability
At the last look-up, the German, French and Spanish Amazon stores were asking 104 € to 157 €.
It is sold in the British Amazon store as well, in its own currency, which the euro figures above leave out on purpose.
The asking price on the Italian Amazon store ran past 1.6× the lowest country’s. A gap that size points to goods shipped in from abroad rather than a local seller, so that offer is left out of the figures above.
The American Amazon store returned no entry, so the buy button there opens a search rather than a missing page.
Every figure here is Keepa’s reading on the date this page was last updated. Stock and prices can change at any time.
Prices quoted in this text were read on 15 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
Where it earns its place, and where it falls short
Strengths
Delivered pre-assembled and weighing about 1.8 kg, so it can be set up and moved easily
Publishes a spot size, 0.04 × 0.04 mm, and a working area
Includes a laser shield, safety glasses and an emergency stop switch
Compromises
The 3.5 W figure is not identified as optical output
A 140 × 130 mm area limits work to coasters, tags and small panels
No air assist and no laser class published
Specifications
Optical output power
Absent from the listing as optical power — the title says 3.5 W and no bullet says what the figure measures
Working area
140 × 130 mm, title
Spot size
0.04 × 0.04 mm, third bullet
Air assist
Absent from the listing
Published laser class
Absent from the listing
Enclosure
None; a laser shield and safety glasses are included, described by the maker as reducing eye strain, second bullet
Software compatibility
LaserGRBL (free) and LightBurn (paid), over USB, Wi-Fi or app, with an offline mode, fourth bullet
Amazon reference
B0F611CNDL (same reference on 5 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN
0700398598188
Questions makers ask before buying
Is 3.5 W the power of the beam?
The listing does not say. Diode engravers are sold on both electrical and optical figures, and only the optical one describes the light reaching the material. This page reports 3.5 W as the maker’s number without deciding which it is.
Which software does it work with?
The fourth bullet names LaserGRBL, which is free, and LightBurn, which is paid, with connections over USB, Wi-Fi or an app and an offline mode.
20 W (20,000 mW) output power stated · 0.08 × 0.1 mm spot · linear guides · limit switches, removable magnetic cover and tilt alarm · Type-C or USB stick · no working area published
An open-frame diode engraver whose listing states 20 W of output power and a 0.08 × 0.1 mm spot, with linear guides, limit switches and a removable magnetic cover, and no working area.
Best for: A maker cutting wood and acrylic regularly who wants a higher stated output and can confirm the working area first.
5 W, type of power not stated · fully enclosed, Class 1 stated · HD camera with live preview · lid stop and 15° tilt detection · working height up to 27 cm · CutLabX, LightBurn and LaserGRBL
A pre-assembled, fully enclosed 5 W engraver with an HD camera for positioning designs, stated as Class 1, whose listing publishes a 27 cm working height but no working area.
Best for: Engraving personalised gifts at home, positioned by camera, in an enclosed machine.
10 W diode, type of power not stated · 381 × 305 mm working area · enclosed with lid auto-stop · HD camera and material recognition · CoreXY, up to 600 mm/s · air assist set included
The dearest of the five diode engravers on this site, a fully enclosed CoreXY machine with a 381 × 305 mm area, a camera that recognises material and loads settings, and an air assist set in the box.
Best for: A home studio wanting an enclosed, camera-guided engraver with a larger area and air assist from day one.